Rimmel Stay Matte Primer : A Review

Ever since I started using makeup, I’ve always been drawn to drugstore brands. I have a certain affinity for price tags that are too good to be true and quality that can match higher end brands. If done with great research, drugstore brands can serve as a dupe for that product you’ve been lusting to get at MAC! (Or maybe YSL? Guerlain?)

Primers are essentially important to me because I have oily skin during the summer and oily-combination during the colder days. I’ve heard of the wonders of Rimmel’s Stay Matte line so I thought I’d give it a try! But did it pass the test?

The Rimmel Stay Matte Primer comes in a little white tube which is perfect because I can squeeze out the product without too much difficulty. The bottle stays shut when it needs to be. No worries about spillage here! Buying this online cost me around Php 250 ($5) so it’s quite cheap compared to other primers that I’ve been seeing in the market. This primer claims to “control shine for up to 8 hours.”

Rimmel Stay Matte Primer

Honestly, when I first tried it out, I didn’t exactly fall in love. The fluid was white but it quickly disappeared when applied on the face. What turned me off is the scent and the texture upon application. It smells a lot like glue (particularly Elmer’s) and felt like it when applied. It was slightly sticky to the touch. Of course, the scent and stickiness disappeared after a few minutes so I was able to apply my makeup without a problem. Once everything dries up, it gives a smooth matte finish that I absolutely like. However, this finish depends on how much primer you put on your face. More primer = more matte.

Having described my skin type earlier, I could say that this primer has never lasted me 8 hours. About 4 hours after application, my cheeks already feel slightly oily. A look in the mirror proved me right because I could already see parts of my face shining. It gives my face its dose of matte-y goodness but it never lasts long enough for me to say that it really works. Maybe if you’re going out for some errands and need a quick fix, this will work for you. But if you’re expecting a primer that will battle your oiliness throughout the day, try looking for other better ones instead.

What I like about it though is that it creates a really good canvas for your foundation. After putting on this primer, everything else just glides on smoothly. Foundation, blush, powder, everything! The primer helps hold together your makeup to a certain extent that is expected of drugstore brands. Again, this smooth canvas depends on how much you put. More primer = smoother canvas.

Would I repurchase? Probably not. I’ll try venturing into the other primers available in the market or just invest in high end ones I like this primer but I wish it held back the oil for a longer period of time.

Whose skin is this better for? Probably for normal-skinned gals who really don’t like shine on their face. At least there’s minimal oil to combat!

I don’t think the Stay Matte primer is something to rave about, though. It’s all about staying matte and should be in the favor or oily-skinned people but I just think there’s a product that’s better out there.

Well, that’s about it! Is there something I haven’t mentioned that you would like to know? Have you tried this product before? Let me know in the comments!

4 thoughts on “Rimmel Stay Matte Primer : A Review

  1. Wow I’m happy that I am not alone at finding that this feels and smells like glue! I’ve just posted my review of this and I’ve been really thinking for the past few days of using it whether glue was the right thing I can compare to. Hahaha. :))

    P.S. I’m an almost MD too! 😉

    Like

    • Well, there’s no point in lying about the products, right? We owe our readers and ourselves an honest review! 🙂

      Glad to know! Although I think you’re closer to medical school than I am, as of the moment.

      Like

Leave a Reply

